Classic British SparesKlempf British PartsBaxter CycleBritBike Sponsor SteadfastCyclesSRM EngineeringLucas Classic MotorcycleHepolite PistonsIndustrial tec supply

Upgrade your membership to: Premium Membership | Gold Membership | Life Membership | Vendor Membership | Site Sponsor Membership
Welcome to BritBike Forum!
Britbike forum logo
Member Spotlight
norbsa48503
norbsa48503
Flint,Mich
ShoutChat
Comment Guidelines: Do post respectful and insightful comments. Don't flame, hate, spam.
Search eBay for motorcycle parts in following countries
Australia, Canada, France, Holland, Italy, United Kingdom, USA
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
#836537 01/13/21 12:35 am
Britbike forum member
OP Offline
Britbike forum member
After I graduated university my first job in 1966 was at the Group R&D Center for the Associated Engineering Group (AE).
The group included Hepworth and Grandage (Hepolite pistons), Well worthy (pistons, rings and liners), Glacier (shell bearings) , Coventry Radiator (heat exchangers), AETC (turbine blades) and several other companies.
I was a Development Engineer and had two development fitters working for me.
One of them was a man named Peter Booth.
Although they theoretically worked for me essentially it was a small team working together like friends.
Peter was an enthusiastic motorcyclist--as was I --and we became firm friends.
At that time he was restoring a 1928 Zenith and I was amazed and totally impressed with his meticulous approach and his attention to detail.
Working together as a small team we solved several cooling system problems-- the first Buick V8 in a Rover car, the V12 in the Jaguar saloon, the Triumph Trident oiol cooler and the British Army Challenger main battle tank.
We spent many nights together in the freezing cold of the MIRA wind tunnel testing systems at 85 mph-- the maximum speed at which the tunnel would run.